More For You And More For Me: An Appeal For The Future

Yes, Charles Eisenstein’s ideas speak to me. (The above video is a preview to a short film that will become March 1.) I believe there has to be a better way to live than our current economic system.

It’s just a matter of people reaching a turning point in their thinking, which will lead to a turning point in behavior.

Will that happen in my lifetime? I’m not making any bets.

But I’m optimistic.

An excerpt from Charles Eisenstein in the video above:

And that for a long time our minds have told us that maybe we’re crazy, that maybe we’re imagining things, that’s its crazy to live according to what you want to give. But I think now, as more and more people wake up to the truth, that we’re here to give, and wake up to that desire, and wake up to the fact that other way isn’t working anyway – the more reinforcement we have from people around us that this isn’t crazy. This is makes sense. This is how to live.

And as we get that reinforcement, then our minds and our logic no longer have to fight against the logic of the heart which wants us to be of service. This shift of consciousness that inspires such things is universal, 99% and the 1% and it’s awakening in different people in different ways.

I think love is the felt experience of connection to another being. An economist says ‘more for you is less for me.’ But the lover knows that more of you is more for me too. If you love somebody their happiness is your happiness. Their pain is your pain. Your sense of self expands to include other beings.

That’s love, love is the expansion of the self to include the other. And that’s a different kind of revolution. There’s no one to fight. There’s no evil to fight. There’s no other in this revolution.

Everybody has a unique calling and it’s really time to listen to that. That’s what the future is going to be. It’s time to get ready for it, and contribute to it, and help make it happen.

I have not yet read Eisenstein’s book, “Sacred Economics,” but it is on my must-read list. Find out more about his book and thoughts here.

Leave a comment